Best to Have Black-Eyed Peas, Just in Case

New Year’s Day is one of the holidays for which my family had a regular tradition. And even though I’ve changed up the entree and other sides over the years, I always have black-eyed peas. I think it started as a southern thing, but now, even here in California, you can usually get the peas fresh, frozen, or dried, and they’re prominently displayed at this time of year.

The black-eyed peas symbolize prosperity; some say they represent pennies and the (usually) accompanying turnip or collard greens represent bills. Well, too bad—I’ll have to settle for coins because I cannot abide collards or turnip greens. Will properly doctored kale do?

Is eating kale just another sign that I’ve been out of Texas for a long time?

Leave a Reply

